CED-IADR Visiting Scholar Grant

The CED-IADR ‘Visiting Scholar Grant’ supports young investigators from Europe to be trained in research and to carry out a specific research project in a collaborating research laboratory located within the CED-IADR area.

Apply here


The candidates must:

  • hold a degree in dentistry or in another scientific discipline.
  • have their affiliation in the CED-IADR area.
  • be a member of the CED-IADR for at least the past two years and actively engaged in research. 
  • not be older than 35 years at the time of application.
  • host laboratory should be different from the applicant's laboratory and should be located in another country within the CED-IADR area.
  • CED-IADR Visiting Scholar Grant can be only received once.

Research Topic

Applications will be considered in all areas of dental and cranio-facial research.


Applications (in English) should include the following details:

  1. name, address, date of birth, current place of work, and position
  2. full curriculum vitae with list of publications
  3. references from two recognized scientists of the institution, where the applicant is presently employed
  4. a detailed research plan including background and aim of the project, material and methods to be applied, a list of the relevant literature, and starting date and duration of the visit
  5. a statement of the person responsible for the hosting laboratory (located in the CED-IADR area, but not limited to the above-mentioned list), including confirmation that the applicant will be adequately supported for conduction of the planned project, detailed description of the areas in which the grant recipient will be trained, and the willingness to bear any research or laboratory costs involved with the stay of the grant recipient


The application must be received by the Secretary of CED-IADR no later than May 29 of each year. 

Apply here


The CED-IADR Visiting Scholar Grant committee will select up to 3 CED-IADR Visiting Scholar Grant winners, who will officially be announced at the CED-IADR General Assembly during the meeting. Preference is given to researchers under 35 years of age applying for the first time.


It is expected that the CED-IADR Visiting Scholar Grant Recipient‘s visits starts by preference in January, and certainly no later than May of the year following the application year. The Grant's recipient will be responsible for organizing the visit, including all the necessary on-site arrangements. Upon completion of the research training visit, the CED-IADR Visiting Scholar Grant winner is obliged to provide a written report (signed by the host) to the Secretary of CED-IADR and to present the research results at a future congress of CED-IADR or PER-IADR.

The Grant's winner has to be the first author of the abstract('s), which will be published on the CED-IADR website. The report shoud include the following:

  • Introduction/Background
  • Objectives
  • Methodology
  • Results and Discussion


In 2023

 The CED-IADR Board has exceptionally given 3 Turkish researchers whose university were affected by the earthquake of Feb 2023 the Special 2023 Visiting Scholar Grants for Turkish researchers. These researchers are:

• Aysegul Sari, Hatay Mustafa Kemal University

• Hazal Deniz Kose, Hatay Mustafa Kemal University

• Hazal Duyan Yuksel, Çukurova University

In 2022: no applicant 

In 2021: no applicant 

In 2020: 

Caroline Mocquot from France (6-month stay in Leuven, Belgium) conducted research on the topic “Characterization of the bioactive potential of new porous bioglasses in the remineralization of calcified dental tissues”

In 2019: no applicant

In 2018:

  • Fabio Rodríguez Sánchez from Spain (6-month stay in Leuven, Belgium)

In 2017:

  • Maria Parschalidou from Greece (6-month stay in Munich, Germany)
  • Cristina Parise Gre from Brazil (6-month stay in Leuven, Belgium)

In 2016:

  • Christina Hadjichristou from Greece (6-month stay at Marseille, France)

In 2014 and 2015:

no stipend given

In 2013:

  • Nino Tsintsadze from Tbilisi, Georgia (6-month stay at Siena, Italy)

In 2012:

  • Zeynep Bilge Kutuk from Ankara, Turkey (6-month stay at Munich, Germany)
  • Nino Tsintsadze from Tsilisi, Georgia (6-month stay at Siena, Italy)
  • Aliye Akcali from Izmir, Turkey (6-month stay at Zurich, Switzerland)

In 2011:

  • Vesna Miletic from Belgrade, Serbia (6-month stay at Leuven, Belgium)
  • Özgen Öztürk from Izmir, Turkey (6-month stay at Zurich, Switzerland)

In 2010:

  • Fidan Aysenur from Ankara, Turkey (6-month stay at Leuven, Belgium)
  • Jelena Juloski from Belgrade, Serbia (6-month stay at Firence, Italy)

In 2009:

  • Özgün Özcaka from Izmir, Turkey (at Leuven, Belgium)
  • Ayce Ünverdi from Konya, Turkey (at Munich, Germany)

In 2008:

  • Elif Öztürk from Ankara, Turkey (at Munich, Germany)

In 2007:

  • Arzu Beklen from Istanbul, Turkey (at Helsinki, Finland)

In 2006:

  • Ulvi Kahraman Gursoy from Sivas, Turkey (at Helsinki, Finland)

In 2005:

  • Osman Tolga Harorli from Erzurum, Turkey (at Regensburg, Germany)
  • Sergey Nikolaenko from Krasnoyarsk, Russia (at Erlangen, Germany)

In 2004:

  • Aniela Brodzikowska from Warsaw, Poland (at Madrid, Spain)
  • R. Banu Ermis from Isparta, Turkey (at Leuven)
  • Krisztina Karpati from Szeged, Hungary (at Strassbourg, France)

In 2003:

  • Agata Czajka-Jakubozska from Poznan, Poland (at Michigan)
  • Abdulkadir Sengün from Konya, Turkey (at Regensburg, Germany)
  • Maciej Zarow from Krakow, Poland (at Manchester, UK)

In 2002:

  • Malgorzata Kacprzak from Warsaw, Poland (at Mainz, Germany)
  • Arzu Tezvergil from Ankara, Turkey (at Turku, Finland)

In 2001:

  • Alp Dabanoglu from Istanbul, Turkey (at Munich)
  • Elzbieta Dybizbanska from Warsaw, Poland (at Liverpool, UK)
  • Zeynep Ergücü from Izmir, Turkey (at Regensburg, Germany)
  • Jacek Iracki from Warsaw, Poland (at Leuven, Belgium)
  • Agnieszka Mielczarek from Warsaw, Poland (Stockholm, Sweden)


Want to be our next CED-IADR Visiting Scholar Grant winner?

Then apply no later than July, 1st of each year via this link

CED-IADR Visiting Scholar Grant

{{ popup_title }}

{{ popup_close_text }}